Camp Edey was first incepted in 1941 near Sag Harbor. In 1945, the camp's Board of Directors voted to establish the camp in Bayport. Today, Camp Edey is located on 95 sprawling acres on the beautiful Sans Souci Lakes, has two pools, an archery range, miles of hiking trails, and even a frog-friendly pond. The Juliette Low Friendship Center, a community center, is also located at Camp Edey. It hosts many council-wide events, programs, and training workshops.
Did you know? Camp Edey was named after Sarah Birdsall Otis Edey, Bellport resident, suffragist, and accomplished poet. Mrs. Edey served as the National President of Girl Scouts of the USA from 1930-1935, and to date is the only woman from Long Island to have served in that capacity.
Camp Sobaco, nestled on 42 acres in the heart of the Pine Barrens on the banks of the Carman's River, is the home of the Discovery World STEM Center. Camp Sobaco also has miles of hiking trails, a treehouse, a large archery range, and a pool.
The STEM Center provides children with exciting and interactive experiences as they embark on a journey to discover a whole new world through experiments and demonstrations, special guest presentations, and immersive activities.
We are currently in the process of renovating Camp Sobaco and accepting donations for the re-opening of our Discovery World STEM Center. Check back for more updates.